Adoption Journey Part 2

Continuing our adoption journey, here is how we were blessed to bring Caleb into our lives.

Part 2:

When we adopted our son, unfortunately his birthmom was not our first placement match.  Our first placement match was with a very sweet Korean foreign exchange student attending college in Virginia.  We were matched in August 2010 with the baby being due in November, however, due to family influence, she would later change her mind and decide to keep the baby prior to birth.

We received our second match with a birthmother in October 2011.  We had 15 days until she was due to deliver a baby girl.  On October 31, 2011 we loaded the car for a 15 hour car ride to Alabama.  On November 1, 2011, the baby girl was born.  She was beautiful and perfect and we were so excited to be her parents.  Little did we know that God had other plans in store for us.  After spending all day with the baby girl naming her, feeding her, and caring for her, the birthmom changed her mind the second day we were with her and decided to keep the baby girl.

I’m not going to sugar coat it, that was the of the most devastating day of my life so far.  The car ride home was more painful than I can describe and the couple months that followed were not any better.  But through the trust in God, my husband who wouldn’t let me fall and a wonderful group of friends and family, we pulled through it.

Kevin and I were married on March 8th.  I love this time of year, the weather is starting to warm up and you just know that the Texas summer, if it hasn’t already started, is just around the corner.  In 2012, Kevin was finishing up his Masters Degree so he was in class most nights.  So for our anniversary we met for lunch that day to celebrate.  After our two disrupted adoptions, we decided we would adopt a sibling group through the state foster care system.  We were finalizing our paperwork at lunch that day and realized we had forgotten something.  So we decided to wait and turn the paperwork in on another day.  As I was finishing up work that day, my phone rang around 4pm.   It was the agency.  They had called to tell me that a birthmother had chosen us to place for child for adoption.  So as they were telling me all about the mom the lady tells me something that instantly changed my life forever.  She said, “And I need to tell you that she is already in labor.”  I literally had to pick the phone up off the floor.

So the next day we piled in the car and drove to Houston to meet our beautiful son.  And that’s the story of how Caleb, Mr. C, became apart of our lives.  I seriously adore everything about this little boy.  And as hard as it was to go through the loss of the two previous placements, I’m grateful to God above that I get to spend my days with my son.

One more note about adoption.  I have been asked over the years how we’ve been through everything we’ve been through and still have such faith and trust in the Lord.  I will say it was difficult and at times I questioned my faith, but then I look at the face of my son and realize that God knew what he was doing.  Adoption is not for the faint at heart.  If you ever feel like you’d like to talk to me more one on one, please feel free to contact me.

Over the years, many people have asked how they could help us. Sadly in the US, adoption is an expensive journey, but one that has a reward that could never have a price tag attached to it. We recently became aware of a wonderful non-profit group called Adopt Together. They specialize in providing a crowd funding type venue where people who want to help couples adopt can give and make it possible. AdoptTogether is a project of Hoping Hearts Foundation, an
IRS approved 501(c)(3) organization.

Two and a half years ago, we stepped out in faith when we decided to adopt and as honestly as I can say, we are not worried about the finances of our adoption. If you really think about it, the costs really equal that of buying a nice new car, something many people buy without much thought and may keep only 5 years or so. A child is for life. That said, we know that people want to help. So I would invite you to check out our Adopt Together page.

Just helping us by sharing the website with your friends via Facebook is a help in and of itself. We want everyone to know we are adopting. Our story may encourage someone else to adopt. There are SO many children who need forever families. And if anyone wanted to help by giving a tax-deductible donation to our Adopt Together website, that would be a blessing to us as well!

With all that said, what can you do to help. First and foremost, pray for us, for our future birthmom and for the child she may be carrying and considering placing for adoption. Next, share, share and share our page with your friends on facebook and even pinterest and twitter if you have one. And lastly, if you feel called, consider helping us financially on our journey. Love and blessings from Kevin, Kristi and Caleb

https://www.adopttogether.org/babygeiger

One thought on “Adoption Journey Part 2

  1. Jennifer Hillman

    I love your blog! I love hearing about your story and about the process of adoption. Thank you for sharing and may The Lord continue to bless your family in big ways!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

