November 3rd Cooking

I’m so excited about this week.  A group of moms that I am friends with has decided to participate in a freezer meal swap.  I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone comes up with to share.  For my contribution, I’m prepping a Chicken Tortilla Soup for the crockpot.  I’ve made this recipe in the past, but not from a freezer bag.  I just dumped all the ingredients in the crockpot fresh.  I’ve included the recipe below.

IMG_4326

Chicken Tortilla Soup (adapted from http://therealisticorganizer.blogspot.com/2014/01/organized-slow-cooker-freezer-meals.html)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 8 oz frozen corn
  • 1 can black beans, drained
  • 1 cans pinto beans, drained
  • 1/2 onion chopped – OPTIONAL
  • taco seasoning to taste (I use homemade from this recipe)

If making from a freezer bag, allow to thaw overnight or 24 hours in the fridge.

To Cook:
add 1 cup water or chicken broth
add Taco Seasoning
cook low for 4-6 hours

This past weekend and very good friend took me to a local Italian grocer in Dallas called Jimmy’s Food Store.  They have great fresh pasta that I just had to try.  Tonight we had their Pumpkin Tortellini with Victoria’s Vodka sauce for dinner.   The only word my husband and I had after dinner was YUM!!!  Even my 2.5 year old had several pieces of tortellini and asked for three helpings of organic spring salad mix.  I was one satisfied happy mama tonight 🙂

IMG_4325

www.adopttogether.org/babygeiger

Leave a Reply

