New Twist…Old Favorite

I’m not sure I ever “loved” rice crispy treats, but when I see one at a gathering I don’t mind having one on occasion.  I recently had a friend bring some to a meeting and she shared with me that she always adds peanut butter to her recipe.  YUM!  So I decided to expound on that recipe and try adding chocolate chips in as well as the peanut butter.  These were very yummy if I do say so myself!

IMG_4336

Use the standard rice crispy treat recipe:

3T butter (I used organic)
10oz marshmallows (yes I used the store bought, but next time I make my own)6 C rice crispys (I found a brown rice organic brand at Sprouts)
1/4 C Peanut Butter (I used a honey roasted peanut butter I got from the farmers market)
1/4 C Chocolate Chips (I used some left over Ghirardelli mini chips)

Melt butter over low heat, add marshmallows and melt, add peanut butter and chocolate chips.  Stir until all melted.  Remove from heat and pour in large bowl.  Add rice crispys.  Use wax paper to form into a 9×13 pan.  Cut and serve.

Enjoy!

World Adoption Day

We are so excited to share with you that this Sunday, November 9, 2014 is the first ever, World Adoption Day.  Check out the link and help show your love to all those you know who have been touched by adoption.

Baby Geiger

3 thoughts on “New Twist…Old Favorite

    1. kkgeiger03 Post author

      Hi Ema and thanks for your question! The fun thing about rice crispy treats is there are so many variations. You could use Nutella instead, or remove the peanut butter all together and try different cereals (cocoa krispies or fruity pebbles), You could add a few drops of food coloring for different colors.You could even add fruit like chopped cherries for a nice change.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Ema Jones

        Flexible recipe! Yeah, taste enhances when you exchange ideas. Happy cooking ❤ ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

