Little Mans Favorite Snack

I never really had a taste for applesauce, but my son loves it.  I didn’t realize how much of a difference in taste in the store bought brand vs. homemade applesauce.  The difference now has me enjoying applesauce when my son does.  Here’s how I make ours.

Ingredients:
3 lb Apples (I use a variety of red, green, gala and fuji; all organic)
1/2 cup Apple juice
1 T lemon juice (I used fresh squeezed, but you could substitute from the bottle)
1-3 tsp cinnamon
1-2 T honey (optional)
1/4 t nutmeg (optional)

Directions:

First core each of the apples, then I take the extra step to peel the apples.  Taking the peel off makes it easier to puree and then put in my sons pouch, which I will show you later.  I usually cut each apple into 6-8 pieces and put in a pot on the stove.  Add the apple and lemon juices.  Add in the amount of cinnamon you like.  Normally I use 1 teaspoon for 3 pounds of apples, but this time I was just shaking some out of my glass container and it was more like 1 tablespoon, but the taste was wonderful.  Stir the ingredients, cover and cook on medium to medium-high heat for 20-25 minutes. (Cooking times may vary depending on your stove)

IMG_4347

Once the apples are soft and moist, you can add in the honey and nutmeg if you choose.  I find the variety of apples gives more than enough sweetness and don’t add the honey.  For this batch, since I accidentally put in too much cinnamon, I did not add the nutmeg.

After the mixture has cooled slightly pour into a container and use an immersion blender to puree the mix.  This recipe usually gives me enough for the three containers pictured.  I put the large one in the fridge and freeze the little ones for future use.

IMG_4348

About the little animal pouches.  We love our squooshi reusable food pouch containers.  We use them for applesauce, smoothies, yogurt, oatmeal, anything with a squishy consistency.  We’ve used these more so since our son is bigger, but could also be used with little ones eating pureed food on the go.  These are safe to wash by hand or pop in the top rack of the dishwasher.

Adoption News:

We were so excited to see that after several donations we’ve received, we are just $102 away from our first goal of $1500 to help cover the cost of our homestudy we recently completed.  Would you consider helping us reach this first goal?  If you have the financial means to support our adoption, no amount is too small or too big; $5 to $5,000 – any and all funds will help and are so greatly appreciated.   http://www.adopttogether.org/babygeiger

Leave a Reply

